Why a DUI Will Cost You MORE

Why a DUI Will Cost You MORENearly 50,000 drivers are pulled over annually in the state of Florida and are believed to be, and in turn are accused by law enforcement officials for driving while under the influence—also known as DUI. Given this statistic, the successful prosecution rate for such offenders and instances nearly topples 43,000 out of the 50,000 aforementioned annually. Sadly, these are very concerning statistics, especially when taking into consideration the mortality rate of DUI involved vehicular accidents—or for prosecutions sake manslaughter-related offenses.

Recently, Sen. David Simmons, R-Altamonte Springs has made it a point to present a bill in which would offer and secure a heavier penalty for those believed to be, or whom are accused of driving under the influence (DUI) and refuse breathalyzer tests—which is surprisingly within the rights of any American citizen to do at any time. Said proposed bill is known as SB 1244, and effectively would create much heavier fines and penalties for anyone whom refuses a breathalyzer test when suspected by law enforcement officials for driving under the influence.

To date, the most atypical scenario that plays out in a scenario is one in which a citizen can refuse a breathalyzer test upon suspicion of drunk-driving, however, and only face the default penalty of up to a year’s suspension of said individuals driver’s license. Given the current penalty(s) for such, this leads prosecutors, law enforcers, and other government researchers to believe that the current laws pertaining to DUI breathalyzer refusals are “too lax”, in turn promoting if not otherwise stimulating any sort of recidivism of drunk-drivers. In essence, the implementation of such a bill would ideally serve as a stronger deterrent for those considering or driving while under the influence—DUI. Although other evidence is taken into consideration in such instances, such as police dash-cam video and testimony, the stronger the case and resources a law enforcement official has at his or her disposal, the more likely prosecution might be successful for such offenders.

Under the new proposed Florida Bill, SB 1244, offenders whom refuse breathalyzers upon being suspected of DUI, will face up to $1,000 in fines for the first offense and 6 months’ probation, while second time offenders may face up to a year in prison as well as additional heavier fines and penalties—such as 4 points on ones drivers record. Additionally, the installation of a breathalyzer device inside ones vehicle would also be required (at the owners expense) for second time offenders or otherwise DUI breathalyzer refusals.

Although in instances involving severe injuries or fatalities (alcohol) blood tests can be mandatory and forced (or coaxed) onto a suspect, great grey areas exist regarding such circumstances and make it difficult for prosecution to hold and pursue a strong case in such instances as the argument of a violation of rights will often be made when such circumstances are prevalent.

Given the current statistics pertaining to the seemingly increasing rates of drunk drivers in the state of Florida, one might argue that the application of such a Bill will be successful, and serve as a credible measure of promoting recidivism of drunk drivers and accidents to fatalities stemming from such to begin to take effect.

Image credit: 123rf.com

Florida Is Not The Place To Get Busted For DUI

Florida Is Not The Place To Get Busted For DUIIf you’re living in the state of Florida or if you’re planning on moving there, you’ll need to know the penalties for Driving Under the Influence aka DUI as the state does not take this offense lightly.

Florida is known for some pretty hard DUI laws and penalties.  They have a Blood Alcohol Level aka BAL of .08%, as well as any chemical or controlled substance.

Should you get your first bust and conviction, get ready to fork over some money and worse.  You can get fined from $500 on up to $1,000 and if you BAL is .15% or even higher and are unfortunate enough to have a minor in the vehicle your fine will be $1,000 to $2,000.  You may have to do community service as well which is a mandatory 50 hours or even an additional fine of $10 per community service hour.  You may get probation of no more than one year, jail time of about 6 months for less than .15% BAL but higher means you’ll be looking at around 9 months.  Your vehicle might get impounded as well for 10 days which does not include your incarceration time.  Finally you might get your license revoked for up to a year. Keep Reading →

Singer Mindy McCready is missing with her 5-year-old son

TAMPA, Fla. (AP) — Florida authorities say country singer Mindy McCready is missing with her 5-year-old son, and a judge has given her until Thursday to return the boy.

The state Department of Children and Families says a missing persons report was filed with Cape Coral police Tuesday night after McCready took her son Zander from her father’s home.

McCready doesn’t have custody of her son — her mother does — and the singer was allowed to visit the boy at her father’s home, according to a department spokesman. On Tuesday, DCF discovered that McCready and the boy were not at her father’s home.

Read more …

Award for making most DUIs goes to Pasco trooper

The winner of the Hurd-Smith award for making most DUI arrests on the state is a Pasco County trooper Ronald Evans Jr who has made 238 DUI arrests in 2010.  Mr. Evans also won the award in 2009 for making 187 DUI arrests.

This is a significant increase of 27%  in a number of arrests a trooper has made in 2010. How this 27% increase in a number of arrests can be explained? On my opinion it’s either we got really much more dunk people driving under influence or perhaps Highway patrol has significantly increase the patrolling hours. After all, the increase is 27%!

Sgt. Steve Gaskins, spokesman for the FHP, said the reason for the high numbers isn’t because Pasco has an extreme amount of drunken drivers compared with other Florida counties. It’s just that these two troopers are good.

“Those guys have quite the initiative to do DUI enforcement,” Gaskins said. “As a result, the numbers are high.”

Statistics for people convicted of DUI in Pasco have remained relatively the same in recent years — 1,057 in 2007; 1,033 in 2008 and 1,042 in 2009. Numbers for 2010 were not available.

Hillsborough County has the highest number of DUI convictions in the state, with 4,038 in 2009, according to FHP statistics. Its numbers have declined slightly in recent years. Pinellas had a sharp decrease of 17 percent in 2009, with 2,223 convictions. Hernando has been steadily decreasing, going from 567 in 2007 to 486 in 2009.

Source: Tampa Bay

Assistant state attorney charged with DUI, cops say

An assistant state attorney in Lake County who was stopped — but not arrested — for reportedly driving drunk Sunday night was charged Monday with driving under the influence, Mount Dora police officials said.

William Charles Gula was given a notice to appear before a judge to face a DUI charge after a Mount Dora police officer stopped him Sunday night and he refused to take a sobriety test.

The officer later took him home without charging him.

Chief Assistant State Attorney Ric Ridgway said Gula has been suspended without pay until the case is reviewed.

Source: Orlando Sentinel

Woman Charged With DUI

Tampa Bay area woman was impaired when she rear ended a Pinellas County school bus.

The sheriff’s office says 48-year-old Donna Lynne Jones was charged Thursday with DUI, open container, no proof of insurance, careless driving and introduction of contraband into a secure facility. She was being held on $11,500 bail.

Authorities say the bus was taking more than three dozen students to Garrison Jones Elementary School Thursday morning when Jones ran a red light and hit the bus.

Source: Miami Herald

Man gets 21 years for deadly DUI

This is a very sad story. A 39 year old man Randy Archiquette caused a total of five crashes within 30 minutes on April 14, 2009.

At 3:59 p.m., police say, Archiquette crashed into Williams, pushing her northbound 1994 Chevrolet sedan into a telephone pole. He continued north, blowing through the intersection with Hillsborough Avenue, colliding head-on with McFarland, who was southbound on Florida, just blocks from home.

Both were pronounced dead at area hospitals, leaving family members reeling over their sudden deaths.

Now Randy at 41 will server 21 years in prison and 24 years of probation for killing McFarland and 69-year-old Betty Williams in a 2009 drunken driving incident, Hillsborough Circuit Judge Thomas Barber decided Friday.

Source:
Tampabay.com
Miamiherald.com